I Am…Optimistic

No name
Voices of Center for Human Services
2 min readJun 30, 2017

What word defines you? This is the question we asked Tahjanae Reliford, a resident at Center for Human Services (CHS) Pathways, during her interview for the I Am Project.

Tahjanae answered, “I am optimistic.”

Photo by Justin Souza, Photos Just So

Tahjanae is a resident at Pathways, Center for Human Services’ transitional housing program for 18–21 year old youth experiencing homelessness. She has been a resident there for over a year. “ I wasn’t living in the best environment,” Tahjanae said, “I was looking for a place to stay where I could feel safe and comfortable and a friend recommended Pathways.”

Tahjanae likes living at Pathways because it taught her to be self-sufficient. “It pushed me to be an adult,” Tahjanae said. Tahjanae works at the Boys and Girls Club. Every day, she gets to help young people in the community. She uses the skills she has learned at Pathways to help others. “I use what I learn in counseling and Seeking Safety to teach kids at the Boys and Girls Club to develop good coping skills and help them with their daily struggles,” Tahjanae said.

Optimism is a mindset that Tahjanae holds dear and tries to apply in her daily life. “Whatever circumstances I face, I have to be open and willing to have a different perspective. I have to be open minded and understanding of others,” Tahjanae said, “optimism allows me to adapt and adjust to any situation, despite the challenges I face.”

This interview is a preview of the I Am Project, a multimedia project including photos by Photos Just So and video by El Nido Productions. This is a project that celebrates the humanity of individuals involved with CHS and the words that define their stories. Stay tuned for more information.

--

--