Pursuit of Happiness: A Story by Penny

No name
Voices of Center for Human Services
3 min readOct 3, 2016

The following story was written by Penny, a client of our Workforce Development Program, an employment program that helps adults receiving CalWORKS cash aid to obtain or prepare for employment. This story is about how she grew to be happy and continues to strive for happiness daily.

Name of author has been changed to protect confidentiality

You don’t just start out with the perfect happy life without struggles of an excursion. My name is Penny. I am the mother of three and have a loving fiancé. I’d like to share with you how I got to that point, and why it makes me feel the way I do: happy. The journey takes off in ’08 during my high school years, learning to be a mother at an early age and the struggles that came with it. Shortly followed by meeting my current fiancé and becoming a mother of twins! And my current destination to a dream job I didn’t think would arise.

Back in high school, I loved working in the daycare program they offered, but I never thought of actually having a child, especially at the early age of 17. I thought I had failed my parents and become a huge disappointment. I became pregnant at 16 and had my oldest daughter at 17. I was pushed to go to an alternate school program but refused because I didn’t want to have a worse reputation than I had already gotten. By the end of my senior year, my daughter was 7 months old and watching her mom from the stands as I walked the stage to receive my diploma. That was my first true success in the pursuit of happiness.

Shortly after I had my first born, I met the love of my life. He was young, true, genuine and had the bluest eyes I had ever seen. But being in a relationship wasn’t just about me; I had a daughter that came first. I was blessed to find out he felt the same way. We were together 7 and 1/2 years before we found out we were pregnant, but with twins. After they were born it had become the hardest on us both. Finding a routine for 2 at the same time, plus just getting the hang of it was difficult and rough. However, at this point when I watched my two 16 month old twins playing with their sister or just being curious about their toys and how things work; I realized this was what the struggle was about. This was what being happy looked like.

My journey wasn’t over and still isn’t. I have now hit another struggle in the pursuit of happiness: employment. There are so many jobs out there, but I only qualify for so little, and competing against so many people makes being happy difficult to come by. Looking and landing a job puts a toll on you and your family and becomes a real stressful struggle. After volunteering at an animal shelter I had found out this is what makes me happy, taking care of animals or pets in need, finding them a new home or even just showing them compassion they hadn’t had or needed. The opportunity came for a position within the company but required a license. Although I was put back on a waiting list for not having it, I am to this day practicing almost daily at driving and very soon I will obtain a license and be able to get my dream job.

So you have heard my story in the pursuit of happiness. Becoming a parent at a young age doesn’t stop you from enjoying life, as you have created one. But makes you happy at what you have or are creating. Meeting the love of your life isn’t always peaceful and bliss, you may have obstacles that become a blessing. Struggling for employment can be positive not just for yourself but for your loved ones, for they see you striving and not giving up on something you love. Just like you wouldn’t give up on them. This is my pursuit of happiness. Looking for happiness comes with struggles, but the reward at the end is what makes it all worth it. Thank you for reading my story.

UPDATE: Penny is currently enrolled in driving school.

For more information about the workforce development program visit: http://bit.ly/2cEzZ3u

--

--