My Design Process

Ced Funches
Recent Work
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2015
I love to work.

I try to mix a humble approach and new technology to design brilliant products, campaigns and services using empathy to drive decisions.

Research

I immerse myself in the problem to identify insights and opportunities.

I start with in-depth research—understanding the nature of the problem and studying human behavior. Then I analyze my findings to identify insights and areas of opportunity. The resulting vision serves as a springboard for concept generation.

Immersion, Stakeholder Interviews, Ethnographic Research, Landscape Analysis, Trends & Best Practices

Deliverables: Customer Insights, Opportunity Brief, Product Vision

Model+Craft

Through a rapid, iterative process, I create, test and evolve competing product concepts.

This is where I prioritize features. I build prototypes based on the strongest ones, testing them with consumers and learning from the results. the process is iterative, I continually improve upon the ideas. I usually design in application to save time.

Idea Generation, Collaborative Workshops, Rapid Prototyping, Concept Testing, Refine & Iterate

Deliverables: Vision Prototype, Product Roadmap, Project Plan, Advertising Strategy and Outreach

Build, Launch, Monitor

I finalize and build the launch-ready product, then implement a plan for the future.

As I prepare to bring the product or service to market, I execute a combination of design, development and content creation to make it real. I’ll then test it with customers, refine it, and create an optimization plan to analyze performance and user behavior post-launch. This usually includes post-mortems and writing about what I learned.

UX Design, Visual Design, Content Development, Front & Back-End Development, User Testing

Deliverables: Launch-Ready Product, Advertising Campaign and Optimization Plan

I love to design and solve problems, but I am respectful enough to let others contribute and create right along side me.

--

--

Ced Funches
Recent Work

Design Coach & Principal Designer. Earnest Minnesota dad, just trying to be helpful.