12 Tips To Help You Overcome Your Fear of Public Speaking

These are the things that helped me overcome my fear of public speaking

Ronke Babajide
Our World Tomorrow

--

Vector graphic of woman afraid of public speaking stading at at a pulpit before and after
Graphics by inspiring on freepik

When I started my first job as a sales engineer, I wasn’t prepared for the many public presentations I’d have to give.

The schools in Austria and Germany don’t prepare you for that. There’s no show and tell, no presenting in front of your classmates. Even at university, I only had to give one presentation. And I sweated blood when I gave it.

I was extremely self-conscious. I was afraid that people would think I was an impostor and didn’t know what I was talking about. That I’d lose my voice or forget what I was supposed to be presenting.

I know I’m not alone in this problem. Public speaking can be a daunting task for many people.

It’s normal to feel anxious about standing in front of a group of people and giving a speech or presentation. However, there are ways to overcome your fear and feel more confident when speaking in public.

Here are eight tips that have helped me feel less afraid and more confident when speaking.

1. Know your material inside out

When giving a presentation or speech, it’s important to be prepared.

--

--

Ronke Babajide
Our World Tomorrow

Feminist, Woman in Tech, Natural Scientist, Life Coach, Speaker, Podcaster, Founder. I write about Feminism, Society, Work, Science, Personal Growth & Life