Letter to My Future Granddaughter (That Can Give you Hope)

Christine Vann, MSc.
Our World Tomorrow
Published in
4 min readAug 1, 2022

--

“This is the best time in history to be born a girl; make the most of it”

Letter to My Future Granddaughter (That Can Give You Hope)
Source: Depositphotos.com

Your mother told me the most delightful news last night over a steaming bowl of noodles: she’s expecting you.

I’m so thrilled that my fingers can’t keep up with my jumbling thoughts, so bear with me when I write you this note. It’s straight from the heart.

I’m excited to share my deepest wishes and dreams with you when you’re still snug in your mother’s womb.

You’re the first grandchild (nobody can take that away from you)

Soon you’ll be born. A momentous day for your moms, grandad, and me, but you won’t remember our happiest hour.

Your first breath is only the start of a thrilling life. The world has changed beyond recognition from the day I tested my lungs.

Two moms-twice as fierce

You’ll be born into an all-female household. You won’t question it, but believe me, that was a controversial life choice when I was young.

Yes, I agree that’s a difficult word. But I will explain when you’re older. Have I mentioned I like writing words?

--

--

Christine Vann, MSc.
Our World Tomorrow

SEO writer & owner of parenting site Bumpsnbeyond.com. Interests: consumer & cyberpsychology. Contact me Christine@Bumpsnbeyond.com