Global Goal 04: Quality Education (What’s the point of learning anything?)

Jacques Achille
nOrm
Published in
2 min readJan 11, 2017

My perspective on what I think having Quality Education really means. (Global Goal 04 was developed as a part of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. We centered norm around these goals after reading Issue 05 of CONSCIOUS Magazine)

Like most kids, I needed justification before doing anything that I was told.

Why can’t I keep eating this half pound bag of double dipped chocolate covered peanuts? (learned that one the hard way)

Why should I have to clean my room if it’s just going to get dirty again? (something I still struggle with)

Why do I have to learn this?

Most of the time, the unfortunate answer to the last question is “so you can go to college and get a good job.” There’s a lot I’d like to say about that, but right now I just want to focus on the fact that college can’t be the only answer if we want to provide a quality education to everyone by 2030.

Don’t get me wrong…I went to college and loved it, but I can honestly say that the most enjoyment that I’ve ever gotten has come from learning what I want on my own time. I learned about biology as a kid when I decided I wanted to breed my pet leopard geckos, I learned about landscape architecture and horticulture when I built a pond in high school, and I learned about design and software engineering when I wanted to see if philanthropy could be turned into a social norm.

In 2019, norm’s focus will shift to exploration…there’s a lot more to it than education, but overall, we’ll be encouraging you to be a little self-centered so you can do exactly what you’ve have always wanted (I’m sure you noticed there were a lot of “I’s” in this post).

Our job here at norm is to make sure that as you “do you”, people in underserved areas gain access to more resources so they, too, can do exactly what they want.

Global Goal 04 — Quality Education: #whatsYourNorm?

--

--

Jacques Achille
nOrm
Editor for

Self taught designer and developer. Dreaming of becoming a cartoonist. co-founder & ceo of norm, inc. #whatsYourNorm? (jacques@thenormapp.com)