Global Goal 06: Clean Water & Sanitation

Jacques Achille
nOrm
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2017
Originally wanted to pair this song with globalGoal14, but things changed after listening to it on repeat for over 30mins at 2am to get inspiration for this post.

#myNorm: Simplification — everything I love needs water, so I value water more than any other resource.

I’ve been staring at my screen for the past hour trying to put together my thoughts on GG06 because I really think it’s the most important. Luckily the “myNorm” message I wrote has been staring back and has forced me to think about everything that I’ve ever loved in my life.

After sharing an Instagram story of me not being able to reduce my ideas to a quick read, I started scrolling through my feed. I always get so happy seeing friends share what they love most (whether it’s an incredible sonogram showing the life they’re bringing into the world or an awesome new restaurant they’re trying). Today’s Martin Luther King Day, so people are naturally sharing the inspiring MLK quotes that they love most.

I wasn’t planning on saying anything about MLK today, but as I was sitting cross-legged on my bed (wearing one of my many comfy joggers of course), listening to music, and getting lost in my daydreams I was brought to tears thinking about how fortunate I am to be living out my version of MLK’s dream right now…living the exact life that I want surrounded by people who see me as a person above anything else.

I’ve always loved the idea of reverse engineering things to help make sense of them. Last night when I was trying to understand the value that I see in water, I realized that it’s the common denominator to everything that I value. The world we enjoy is mostly water. The people we love are mostly water. Just about all of our most precious possessions that enrich our lives needed water in some way.

Whenever we ask “#whatsYourNorm?”, we do it in hopes of inspiring people to seek out their real passions. It’s my personal belief that if most everything we love needs water, it makes sense for all of us to cherish and protect it at all costs.

Global Goal 06 — Clean Water & Sanitation: #whatsYourNorm?

My perspective on why I think Clean Water & Sanitation is the most important goal. (Global Goal 06 was developed as a part of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. We centered norm around these goals after reading Issue 05 of CONSCIOUS Magazine)

--

--

Jacques Achille
nOrm
Editor for

Self taught designer and developer. Dreaming of becoming a cartoonist. co-founder & ceo of norm, inc. #whatsYourNorm? (jacques@thenormapp.com)