Global Goal 08: Decent Work & Economic Growth (norm’s approach with reforestation)

Jacques Achille
nOrm
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2017
norm’s partnership focuses on reforestation efforts, but our cover photo is meant to reinforce that globalGoal08 can be considered for every country and industry.

#myNorm: Exploration — decent work gave me the freedom to explore my passions. I hope norm can do the same for those who need it most.

We always want to reinforce that our goal is to help everyone find their norm by exploring what they’re most passionate about. That sounds great on paper, but the reality of life still comes with responsibilities. I was lucky enough to discover #myNorm while creating norm, but that was only possible because I was able to support myself with decent work.

For 3 years, I bartended at Zella in Lincoln Park to support myself and fund norm. This morning I drove Uber from 5–9a, and I’ll be doing the same tonight from 10p-2a. This might not sound like “decent work” to some, and both gigs are far from my passion, but they gave me the freedom and flexibility to understand who I ultimately wanted to become.

We’ll explain more later, but norm is partnering with 400trees.org and The Forest Garden Program. This program empowers families to provide a sustainable lifestyle for themselves through reforestation efforts. Simply put, whenever a person or company supports their favorite nonprofit on norm, they will also provide give people access to decent work while helping reforest different communities around of the world.

We don’t see Global Goal 08 as providing every person with access to their dream job. We see it giving everyone a chance to find decent work that will empowers them to support themselves in order to explore what is most important to them. We look forward to seeing the different organizations people and companies support to make this goal a reality by 2030.

Global Goal 08 — Decent Work & Economic Growth: #whatsYourNorm?

My perspective on how Decent Work & Economic Growth can help everyone discover what they truly want to become. (Global Goal 08 was developed as a part of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. We centered norm around these goals after reading Issue 05 of CONSCIOUS Magazine)

--

--

Jacques Achille
nOrm
Editor for

Self taught designer and developer. Dreaming of becoming a cartoonist. co-founder & ceo of norm, inc. #whatsYourNorm? (jacques@thenormapp.com)