Exploring the Basics of What Mandalas Are

There’s more to them than just a popular choice for colouring.

Shadows Pub
Out of the Shadows
Published in
4 min readDec 6, 2020

--

image from Pixabay.com

Mandalas, geometric designs and zen-tangle are popular choices for adults who enjoy colouring. They all center around abstract designs to colour. They involve focus and concentration on just the image at hand thus helping the person doing the colouring to relax and just enjoy the process.

My attention was drawn to mandalas this week because I chose one to colour as part of my weekly giveaway.

Image by Author

Recently I’ve been creating colouring books and have started giving gifts of colouring pages to my subscriber list at least weekly. You’re welcome to join in if you’d like and get this week’s image.

But, I don’t want to get off track from sharing what I’ve learned about mandalas.

What Makes a Mandala Different?

While mandalas can be fun to colour, their origins come from ancient times. The name is Sanskrit meaning circle. Which definitely explains why mandalas are contained in a circular shape.

--

--

Shadows Pub
Out of the Shadows

Writer | Publisher — I write what catches my interest. A lot catches my interest. I create books to use. Life is a marathon, set your pace & enjoy the trip.