If He’s the One

We’ll see

Hope Rising
Out of the Woods

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I don’t like emotions; when I’m sappy, I feel dumb,

But I’ll tell you what: if he’s the one…heaven help

I’m not saying that I’ll be getting my hopes up

But a woman is a woman even if she’s left feeling like

Her heart’s been totaled in a crash with a dump truck

I’d be lying if I said that I believed in luck, but I

Believe in God and He believes in me working toward

Becoming the woman I was always meant to be and that’s

Why I’ve been laying low, not talking to anybody

And I’m not saying this is meant to be, but

If he’s the one, he’s everything I never expected

He’s all my preconceived notions, corrected

The proof that my path has finally intersected with

A man who shows instead of telling me that I’m protected

Heaven help

God, I can’t do this by myself and

Before somebody wants to say I’m strong and independent,

I know: but I wouldn’t mind it if God sent

Me somebody, not somebody that I’d need to breathe but

--

--

Hope Rising
Out of the Woods

Divorced, biracial woman | 23 going on 65 | Editor for Out of the Woods | I write to heal myself and others | Support me at https://ko-fi.com/aashaanna