Dreams do come true

Rohit Gupta
Outboxed
Published in
3 min readAug 4, 2017

--

I was sitting in the corner and reading a magazine that I had randomly grabbed while leaving home. I was pretending to read something fascinating, but my one eye was stuck on her. I have always been fond of her. The reason why I visited this place, again and again, was just to see her. I need to confess that at my every visit I eyed for her. I never dared to speak to her up front, but I wished to be with her.

She called for my name, but I must not have heard and ignored her first call. It was hard for me to believe that today would be the day when we would speak for the first time. I had always fancied it. It was one of my favorite pastimes, imagining coffee dates with her. During every visit of mine, I sat with the delusion of her standing right beside me. Talking to me and playing with my hair.

I heard during her second call. She was standing right in front of me. She brushed my magazine and moved it down. She then asked me tenderly, “Would you like to take the seat?” Her voice. I can’t tell you what went through me in those moments. Her soothing voice melted me from inside. For few minutes I lost my voice. I couldn’t speak, I tried but words choked up in my throat. I just nodded and sat silently beside her.

I pinched myself to confirm if it was all true or one of my day dreams. She was standing an inch farther to me. I could smell her and feel her breath. She was not just pretty but delicate too. I realized this when she touched me. She went through my hair and pressed my earlobe. I think I shivered a little when she touched my neck. She saw that and giggled.

I closed my eyes and replayed every memorable dream I had dreamt about her. I wished to enact all of them. She kept talking to me, and I kept listening to her. I bet there is no gentler voice than her’s. I could do any thing to sit with her for hours. We talked about hobbies and passion. I told her I am a writer and she was quite impressed. She used to write poem herself and told me that she was looking for some guidance. She asked for my number and gave her’s.

We were getting all chatty and cozy when she saw her boss standing near the counter. There were no words exchanged just subtle eye to eye message exchange. She told me that she would get in touch with me for poems and that she was delighted to meet me. I was stuck to the seat and didn’t wish the moment to get over. I had visited this place many times but never such a moment.

She suddenly broke me from my dream land and asked if I need anything else. I wanted a lot but didn’t dare to say. I think it was a wise decision. One day at a time. She told me “That would be 25 dollars, will you pay by cash or card.” I replied “Card.” This gave me some more time with her. I don’t know what exactly she did with my hair, but those 30 mins were the best time I ever spent in a hair parlor.

Day 4
This is part of my of my 31 day self-challenge in August’17. I will write and publish something everyday for next 27 days. It can be on any topic in any genre in any style.

Recommend the story , click 💚, if you liked it.

--

--

Rohit Gupta
Outboxed

I am a storyteller, from a parallel universe where they didn’t let me write. Hence offloading my stories in here, with words and feelings.