012 A.T. Thru Hike Workout: Rucking a Neighborhood Trail

Tara Vavrik
Outdoor Fitness Junkie
1 min readMay 18, 2020

Type: Hiking

Workout: Carried about 20lbs in my backpack up ~2 miles

How’d it go: Everything is better with friends especially suffering. Who wouldn’t want to experience that with your best friends? To suffer well is when you push your body and mind to places you’ve only touched a few times before. Your body adapts, and then you push even further. It’s all that your body wants to do to get stronger.

Today was one of those days, I felt on top of the world. My pace was fast. I felt great, and I wish I could have kept going even further. I love those hikes where you’re pushing hard, and your heart is thumping in your ears. When you get to the top, you’re breathing hard, but all those endorphins rush through you.

I highly encourage everyone who’s training for a backpacking trip to do ruck hikes. I am currently trying to fit them into my planning about two times a month but not super strict on it. You want to be sure you’re testing your gear and practice what you want to perfect.

Mileage: 1.79 miles

Time: 1:13:51

Notes:

--

--

Tara Vavrik
Outdoor Fitness Junkie

AT 2021 * Outdoor Enthusiast * Personal Trainer * “Send It” professional