Week 40: AT Thru Hike Training- Running Days

Tara Vavrik
Outdoor Fitness Junkie
2 min readMay 22, 2020

I’ve decided to put all my runs into one post and my strength training into 1–2. It’s a lot more do-able for my schedule now and the future. The week is a count down, which is crazy to think I have 40 weeks until March 1st. I picked March 1st because around that time; I will be leaving my home to go to Florida and then proceed to go to Georgia.

Week 40 running schedule
- Each exercise has a 10-minute warm-up and cool-down

Monday: 4-mile run/walk

Wednesday: Cadence Drill and Acceleration Drill (4X each)

Friday: Cadence Drill and Acceleration Drill (4X each)

How did they go?
My 4 Mile Run was the big one this week. I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to do the entire time. My run/walk pace has been 2:00 run and 30 seconds walk. I’m trying to get my pace to be about 9:00 mile.

This week has been a bit of a challenge for me personally. I have gotten caught up with how slow I am, compared to what I use to do. My pace before was running 7:30 minute miles in the morning. I was a keen hiker and climber, plus I did white water kayaking? What happened, you ask? Life changed completely. I started working a new job then I got married. I moved about two times, and when we finally settled down in Hawaii, I got into the Olympic lifting community. I loved it, but lifting heavyweight isn’t going to get me to Katahdin.

When this happens, your body loses that ability to do what you use to. The foundation crumbles, and you have to restore it. I have to remember to keep building because I will thank myself next year when it comes time to push. Even though I’m not where I want to be, I’m not hiking the AT tomorrow, so I have time to get better.

If you’re out there and worried about not being able to hike the AT (or any big goal) or be fast enough to “hang,” know that there are some people who’ve never hiked ever and attempt the Appalachian Trail. Some of those people finish the trek. I just want to assure you that if you’re reading this blog and actively working on your fitness, you’ll be alright. Don’t let someone else’s abilities deter you from accomplishing a dream or goal. Keep going. Keep working. Keep getting better. You will make it.

--

--

Tara Vavrik
Outdoor Fitness Junkie

AT 2021 * Outdoor Enthusiast * Personal Trainer * “Send It” professional