Leaf

Dwight Lyman
Outdoor Poetry
Published in
May 8, 2022
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

A brown leaf scraped at the window pane
just when I
had thought I had lost enough to cry.

Like a finger pointing it
signaled
over
to a spot on the ground full of the sun-spanked clover
I had been sitting in earlier

that very same day
hunting & hunting for a four-leafed one
I might save.

But never found. And the brush
of pain
overwhelmed whatever hope
entered my brain.

Until
some brown leaf screamed at my window
just when I
had given up on the lie.

(I wrote this in December 1978 at 552 Up Pulaski St. in Athens, GA. It was included in my booklet, Darkness and Other Poems [1990]. This version has a couple word changes and altered line breaks.)

--

--

Dwight Lyman
Outdoor Poetry

I write poetry and philosophy (sometimes confuse the two)