Red, Red Rose

Dwight Lyman
Outdoor Poetry
Published in
Mar 21, 2022
Photo by LOGAN WEAVER on Unsplash

My love is like a red, red rose
A red, red rose is she
All day long beneath the willow boughs
She suavely swings my baby

All the day beneath the swaying boughs
Hours below the green-leaved tree
She slowly swings my baby.

My love is like a red, red rose
A red, red rose is she
For up she rises when the dusk has come
Up rises she and baby

Up she rises from the thorny rose
Up gets she when it’s evening come
And tosses me my baby.

(Maybe the narrator of this poem was so busy comparing his love to a rose that he ignored her actual feelings & growing resentment. Besides, in the wild roses come with thorns.)

--

--

Dwight Lyman
Outdoor Poetry

I write poetry and philosophy (sometimes confuse the two)