Karl (on left) & Joseph (on right) of BaseCamp Recreations (BCERT) conducting rappelling activity at Campo Cuatro Bridge in Talisay City.

Trusting the Ropes & Carabiners

Eric Tuñacao
OutPax Blog
Published in
3 min readOct 13, 2015

--

October 3, 2015. Who says extremes are for the pro? That’s what I keep telling myself as I‘m about to make my 1st rappel.

The thought of trusting my life with only the gears is not so comforting. But seeing Carmina volunteering to take the 1st slide among 14 newbies, well.. that’s kind of ego-hitting if I don’t take the challenge.

After all, I’m third to the last to take it. But Vellen without speaking a word gives me the pressure. So I shouldn’t be the last. That will build up all loads on my shoulder. Luckily, Al wants to be the last. She may have hard time finding that “confidence” which Karl deviously coined to replace the word fear.

The fear of heights. Everybody has it unless you are a born as a bird. I could remember the 1st time I conquered acrophobia. I walked in a glass floor outside a 40-storey building where the wind blows and I could see ant-size vehicles. That was really terrifying.

But every adventure will always be a new one. This rappelling activity has a different personality. Seeing this in movies, makes me feel like an action star for a moment. Too bad I wasn’t able to do that Tom Cruise’ butterfly style that Joseph talks about.

Overall, it was a fantastic experience. Definitely worth recommending to newbies and non- adventurers. With Joseph & Karl combo of BaseCamp, you’re in good hands. These guys are safety freaks! Plus their wits & humor will always keep your day alive.

--

--

Eric Tuñacao
OutPax Blog

When you create something from nothing, it's not just something. It equates to infinity.