The DA40 on FSX-SE

Made a bad choice: bought a DA40 on Steam

Jose Antunes
Outpost2
Published in
6 min readApr 8, 2018

--

Owners of Microsoft Flight Simulator X grew used to be able to transfer the add-ons from that program to Lockheed Martin’s Prepar3D, or even use the same add-on on both programs. Some exceptions, though, suggest you should invest wisely on what you buy.

Although there are exceptions perfectly documented, as is the case with some aircraft as, for example, the Cessna Citation Mustang from Flight 1 Software, which indicates clearly on the website that “The FSX and Prepar3D versions are separate purchases. Make sure you select the correct version.”, the general understanding is that most add-ons will work in any of the platforms, as they share, in fact, the same base.

While the move of Prepar3D to 64-bit may create more of a barrier to some types of add-ons, it is clear that many of the developers continue to offer their products in versions that are compatible with both FSX and Prepar3D, when possible. Some developers who initially sold their products to be used with either program, as is the case with A2A Simulations — I know, because I bought the Cessna 172 for both FSX/Prepar3D — have changed their policy, and for some time now have charged more for packages including their planes for both platforms. Still, with some exceptions, many of the airplanes you can buy today for FSX and are compatible with Prepar3D, and the download file you get can be installed on both.

Recently, I went on a shopping spree, and bought a few sceneries from Orbx and the “weather machine” REX’s SkyForce 3D, along with some aircraft. I had already purchased the Cessna Citation Mustang for FSX-Steam Edition, as I moved from the boxed version of the flight simulator to the one Dovetail Games distributes through Steam, and I decided to buy the C337H SKYMASTER HD SERIES (which I already owned since its first release), the C185F SKYWAGON BUSH and the DA40 (from ALABEO, a parent company of Carenado).

The DA40 present in Flight Sim World was my first contact with the aircraft in a flight simulation, and fueled the decision to buy the DA40 for FSX-SE

The acquisition of these aircraft corresponds to different needs and interests to which I will return in future articles, but for now let me go straight to one of them, the DA40. Although I know the airplane from the flying schools and have even photographed it when I had a chance to do so, I only discovered the DA40 in flight simulation with FlightSim World, in a version with a glass cockpit. Curious to see other version of the aircraft, in other simulations, I looked for versions for FSX-SE and decided to buy the one from Alabeo, which has a conventional “steam gauges” cockpit which allowed for a completely different experience and was a nice complement to my first flights on the FSW’s DA40.

Any of the three aircraft indicated earlier are available, as per Carenado’s website, in a single version that can be installed in FSX, FSX-SE or any version of Prepar3D. I bought them to use with FSX-SE, and I picked both the C337H SKYMASTER HD SERIES and the C185F SKYWAGON BUSH directly from Carenado, while the DA40 was acquired through DTG and my Steam account for FSX-SE.

The DA40 cockpit on the FSX-SE version (left) and the glass cockpit from the FlightSim World version

This Christmas I also wanted to invest in a new flight simulator, and I was not sure which to choose. I already own Flight Sim World, but that’s still at a very early phase, so it’s something to keep an eye on, but not yet a full program. Aerofly looks interesting, but I want a balance between eye candy and the rest so it is out of the question, at least for now. I’ve tried the demo version of XPlane 11 and while I enjoy some aspects of what it shows, I kept thinking of Prepar3D, the new 64 version, as the obvious choice.

In the end, I decided to acquire the 64-bit of Prepar3D v4, to continue my studies into the adventure of flight, for very practical reasons: it offers the same control structure of FSX, meaning I am familiar with controls and the interface, and it allows me to move my airplanes and sceneries between the two programs. Investing on add-ons for any flight simulation has to be done wisely and choosing Prepar3D seemed to be the most logical step, as it meant both familiarity with the interface and a better deal in terms of content.

The DA40 in FSX-SE

After a few days trying Prepar3D “out of the box” I decided to install sceneries and aircraft from my FSX-SE version in the Lockheed Martin program, to take the experience to a new level. I opened Orbx’s FSX Central and was immediately invited to choose my simulator, after which I had the option to install the sceneries to Prepar3D v4. I also downloaded the 64-bit version of REX’s SkyForce 3D and got it working. Finally, I opened the files for the C337H SKYMASTER HD SERIES and the C185F SKYWAGON BUSH and installed both airplanes to Prepar3D v4.

The last aircraft to move was the DA40, an Alabeo/Carenado product acquired through Steam. As I did not have a file similar to the other airplanes, I contacted Carenado’s support, and told them this:

“I bought the DA40 from a vendor, Dovetail Games, for FSX-SE, but now I would like to install it on P3D v4, as the airplane is compatible, but I do not have any way to download it or even a serial number. How can this be solved?”

and got a reply stating this:

“If you purchased the aircraft from a reseller and you wish to re-download the installer again, you will have to contact the reseller directly as they have their own download system.”

Simple… until I got in touch with support from Dovetail Games. What they told me is that:

“The package that you would have purchased from us/Steam is a package of this aircraft specifically for FSX: SE. Unfortunately, you will not be able to install this package into other simulators.”

I must confess it never crossed my mind that this would be the case. While it may not look to be much different from what happens with some other products — the Cessna Citation Mustang, or A2A airplanes — it must be said that nowhere, at least that I am aware of, this is told to buyers, contrary to what happens in the two other cases mentioned.

The DA40 flying at sunset, a picture captured in FlightSim World

I’ve not tried it, because I want the transfer from FSX-SE to Prepar3D to be done the proper way, but it is probably possible to copy the files and get the DA40 flying in Lockheed Martin’s program. For now I still have other things to do, and the DA40 in FSX-SE will still be used, although it now reminds me of one thing: if you have both sims and want to use your aircraft in both, think twice before buying any airplane from DTG on Steam. Even if it is on sale, it might be more expensive than buying it elsewhere. Lesson learned!

One final note
Some people will probably tell you differently, and suggest that not all aircraft derived from the same platform are compatible. Well, in this case they are completely wrong, because if you buy the DA40 from Alabeo, you can install it both on Prepar3D V4 and in FSX-SE. Now, if you go and buy it from Dovetail Games through Steam, for FSX-SE, you’ll not be able to use the same files in Prepar3D, even if, logically, they are compatible and you should be able to install the plane in both programs. So, if you’re using both programs, or have FSX-SE but intend to move to Prepar3D, don’t buy aircraft on Steam, if you want to be able to use them in Prepar3D… This confirms that there must be some strategies when buying aircraft, even virtual.

--

--

Jose Antunes
Outpost2

I am a writer and photographer based on the West coast of continental Europe, a place to see the Sun die on the Sea, every day.