Let’s review

Aastha
Outreachy
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2018

It’s been more than a month since Outreachy began. So far it has been a huge learning experience where I got to work with different parts of the Zulip’s codebase. So, in this blog I am going to review some of the things I have done so far.

Merge ‘emoji as text’ setting into one of the options in emojiset.

I had worked on an issue (#6795) which was to add a setting to display emoji as text. There already was a setting to display emoji reactions as text. I had to extend it for all emojis in the messages. After having merged the changes, the next step was to merge this setting into one of the options in emojiset. This seemed pretty straight forward to begin with but there was a learning curve. After much discussion and help, I finally got my pull request (#7440) merged.

Issue: #7406. Pull request: #7440.

Clear typeahead when renaming a bot.

So whenever the bot named was changed, it didn’t reflect in the typeahead suggestion until the page was reloaded. The solution I came up was to just clear the list of rendered persons. So I added that functionality , added some tests and raised the pull request (#7732).

Issue: #7534. Pull request: #7732.

Add a notice when drafts are saved.

So to resolve this issue I had to do a lot of debugging and find out what exactly was going on behind the scenes. Then I added a function whose purpose was to notify the user that a draft has been saved. In the pull request (#7735), I had to make a lot of styling changes before this got merged.

Issue: #7539. Pull request: #7735.

--

--