Outreachy Internship

Aastha
Outreachy
Published in
1 min readDec 9, 2017

It was surreal to see my name as one of the interns for Outreachy round 15. I had known about Outreachy for a year, but only had the courage to apply this year. I am an Outreachy intern under Zulip. I am so excited about this journey.

Starting with open source was one of the scariest and hardest thing I ever did. But once I started making contributions, I became more and more comfortable with it and I got to know there is nothing scary about it.

Yes, I agree it can get quite intimidating to start with open source. And for that I can give only one piece of advice: Just start and keep on trying till you succeed. This is what I learnt from my experience. This is what got me into Outreachy.

Before starting, I had read multiple blogs of past outreachy interns and multiple blogs on how to get started with open source. But these are not going to help you unless you start. So all you coder girls out there, don’t be afraid of open source. Start making contributions today!

--

--