How To Train Baby Elephants

The Main Problem Within American Christian Evangelicalism

Keith Daukas
Outside the Box, Inside The Book
2 min readJun 12, 2022

--

Photo by Harry Miller on Unsplash

I don’t pay attention to the news anymore. I especially don’t focus on anything occurring within the American Evangelicalism landscape. If there’s good news, it’s probably fake and certainly isn’t the biblical gospel; If there’s bad news, it’s no surprise for “pastors” who revere their image and prosperity more than love and truth. However, in the wake of the most recent Southern Baptist Convention sexual abuse cover-up, I was moved to add this post to my blog.

The topic dealing with the corruption within American Evangelicalism led me to discover Medium. In 2019 Medium writer Benjamin Sledge wrote this, and I read it, weeping uncontrollably. Every word of this article rang true to my experience… an experience that lasted over 20 years, four churches, and countless observed cases of abuse covered up by church leaders. Yet, unfortunately, not much has changed within America’s church.

This probably is comically inappropriate to use a writing platform for this. Still, again, in light of the recent and continued church scandals, I’d like to post a podcast interview I did addressing what the main problems are within mainstream Evangelicalism. I can’t express how grateful I am that both Katie Goodman & Jessica Prather allowed me time to share my story on their podcast Recovering SGMer.

Click here to choose your player to listen to the interview.

--

--

Keith Daukas
Outside the Box, Inside The Book

Offering unique perspectives from the Bible on a variety of topics.