UX ROI

Julien Genestoux
Ouvre Boite
Published in
1 min readNov 23, 2015

--

I’m not nearly as knowledgeable and qualified to talk about User Experience than most people. However, as part of a new Superfeedr side project, I’ve been trying to read and learn more in this domain.

One thing that I’ve learned is that when designing any kind of feature, it’s important to understand and answer these questions:

How much does it “cost” the user to to have a good experience?

How much will it earn to the user?

How quickly will they benefit from their investment?

The “cost” can obviously be in $, but more important (and more often), we’re talking about time spent.

The mistake that I tend to make the most often is that I expect the user to immediately understand that the new feature will benefit them forever (or as long as they use our application!)… and hence, be willing to spend a couple minutes understanding and setting up the new feature.

In practice, though there’s a huge discount on the “benefits” of the new features. In other words, the ROI should be very very high in terms of user experience. If I expect my customer to invest 3 minutes of their time in my application, I should make sure that my app returns a lot more than than, and very quickly.

--

--