Health Supplements & My Big Drawer Of Sh*t

I had a Clear-Out…

Chris Davidson
Over 40 Freakin Awesome
3 min readJun 26, 2024

--

Canva

My wife is so generous — she gave me my very own drawer in our kitchen.

You know, for all my bits and bobs?

And she was so polite when she floated the idea:

“There you go, keep all your random sh_t in there, so I don’t have to see it every f_ckin day”

And there was me thinking Canadians like her were supposed to be polite, eh?

Anyway I keep my various health supplements in there, along with the screws, washers, and little things that I will definitely need again some day, for a yet-to-be-determined reason.

I just had a big clear out of the drawer, and have come to a surprising conclusion:

Man, I have bought some really random supplements that I’ve never even bothered taking for more than a couple of days.

How Did This Happen?

I suspect most of them were impulse buys, the danger in having Amazon Prime. Within 10 seconds of reading an article saying Iodine is ‘great for thyroid health’ I can have a bottle of it winging its way to me, to be dropped outside my door within 24 hours by a guy too busy to even knock the door, bless him.

And so I’ve just thrown out about £100/$150 worth of stuff that I, at some point, decided I really needed.

But I had to finally admit I just no longer saw the value of taking these various things, and so it was pointless keeping them.

Here’s the thing with me and supplements:

If I don’t feel anything from taking them after a week or two, I see no point in continuing.

I get suspicious that it’s all a scam.

I fear I’ve fallen into the trap of believing that this Gingko Biloba is truly helping me focus, as if we can gauge from day to day how well we’re focusing!

The things I take daily:

  • ZMA
  • Fish Oil
  • Creatine
  • Vitamin D…

I feel a difference when I stop.

And as I looked through all the things I decided to get rid of, they were supplements that promised vague outcomes around Energy, Focus, Calm, Vitality, Free Radicals, Antioxidants.

Most of them had solid studies behind them (I do research these things before ordering them with a few taps on my phone…), so maybe I’m missing out on living to 100 now I’ve ditched them. BUT…

I always tell coaching clients, who ask me about the latest Wonder Supplement they’ve seen online, that I’m a firm believer that supplements should be supplementing all the other Good Things I do around:

  • Diet
  • Sleep and
  • Workouts,

and I’d really like to hope I’m right about those efforts doing most of the heavy lifting in making sure I lead a long and healthy life.

Plus, I have just freed up so much space for these leftover parts from an IKEA wardrobe that will come in really handy in the future, I just know it…

Over 40, fed up and out of shape — get free access to my Programs Vault (40+ friendly programs for diet, workouts and healthy lifestyle) and you’ll be subscribed to my weekly newsletter too!

--

--

Chris Davidson
Over 40 Freakin Awesome

Coach for busy, out-of-shape Over-40s • Dad of 3 • Irishman • Trainer • Writer • Free Over-40s Fat Loss, Fitness & Lifestyle Programs : www.offacoach.com/free