Buying a M1078 on GovPlanet

MJ
Search and Recreation
2 min readOct 25, 2016

Several years ago I saw a Steyr 12m18 and instantly fell in love. I looked into importing one however owning a Volvo C303 really taught me some lessons in parts availability and working mechanical knowledge for hire. Then I found the M1078 which looks just like the cab of a Steyr however generally quite different. It has a fair number of American parts and things you can buy at your local NAPA store. Caterpillar engine and Allison 7-speed automatic transmission mean that your local diesel and bus shops will know their way around these units.

This year at NWOverland rally we saw a M1078 in person and shortly after started to watch the GovPlanet Auctions. They generally went for $7-$20k. I asked my wife one evening and she liked the idea of another fun truck so I bid on this one at GovPlanet and won it for $7k. It was driven 2 hours with no issues. Runs really solid, can’t wait to start tinkering on it, seeing how my wife drives and figuring out what to do with such a big fun truck.

“Stewy” is so damn big!
11,000 miles. With the pedal on the floor it will do 58mph
Love the bumper and light design.

--

--