Kim Express: an Espresso Machine Reborn

Robert McKeon Aloe
Overthinking Life
Published in
5 min readOct 18, 2019

I originally bought a Kim Express at an estate sale, fixed it up, and fell in love. I brought the machine to work and started learning how to make great espresso. I always dreamed of finding another one for cheap. Finally, I found another one, but it took some work to get it cleaned up. This is how I refurbished my home Kim Express.

The Kim Express

When I originally bought the Kim, I knew nothing of manual espresso machines. I also didn’t know I struck gold buying it for $36. So I started to read about the machine, and by read, I mean I found barely anything on the internet.

I found out my machine was from the 1960’s, and the company went out of business in the 1980’s. It is a spring driven manual lever machine, which new, typically run $1,500+. Used machines depreciate in value until a certain point because they can still function.

Through trial and error, I learned how to use the machine, and I read a bit online how to make espresso. I didn’t have temperature strips or even know about the actual temperature to pull a shot (93C). Instead, through trial and error, I determined when the steam release goes off, it’s in the best state to produce the best espresso. A few years later, I measured with a thermometer, and that happens right around 93C.

My whole process with the Kim is based on listening to the machine and the steam coming out to help time when I’m ready to pull the shot.

Finding an Extra Machine

I started perusing eBay at the end of 2018, and I had a saved search for Kim Express. I had a few other searches which popped up interesting things every week, but not the Kim search. Nothing showed up. There are a few international machines, but in the United States, nothing.

Six months went by, and still nothing. I would have expected if anything became available, it would probably be a few hundred dollars, which is more than I wanted to spend.

Then, the day came. A Kim Express showed up for $100 with shipping included. However, the steam wand was broken, and the machine was very dirty. The guy said the machine would warm up, but it was being sold as is. With my knowledge, I figured it was less risky to buy it.

I messaged the seller and offered $50. A few minutes later the price dropped to $75. I messaged him again to meet him halfway, but he didn’t respond. I figured time was of the essence so I had to buy it before someone else did because that was a pretty good price.

I then check with my wife because this machine it’s gonna take up counter space. She was glad I asked but she did not mind me buying the machine.

After I bought it the seller responded to my last message and said that he couldn’t go any lower in price because shipping was included. I didn’t realize that shipping alone is probably 20 or $30.

Refurbishment

I received the machine, and it was missing a portafilter, but that was OK. It was about a quarter full of dust or scale. Imagine you use the machine for a decade never descaled it.

After rinsing it out and wiping it down, I started the soaks. I soaked it in white wine vinegar. I also lightly scrubbed the inside after one of the soaks.

The machine was also missing a handle for the lever. I had one at work, but I knew I had to build my own. My first version to get through some cleaning involved PVC. I had a portafilter for my other Kim, and I used that small handle as a lever handle. Then I slipped a meter long piece of PVC pipe over it. It was obnoxious but functional.

The pipe was three feet long. If it weren’t so obnoxious to store, I would have kept it.

Then I started the machine up. I ran a liter of vinegar through the machine, but more was needed. After more vinegar, I used citric acid and let it sit.

The plunger was particularly dirty but not damaged.

Then I was sure it was ready, but alas, some white bits were ending up on the top of the coffee puck after the shot was done. So I did more rinsing.

The showerhead had a thick layer of coffee resin, and the left picture is what it was after I scraped it off. Then I cleaned the whole cylinder, cleaned the plunger, changed the O-rings, and re-lubricated everything.

I used a long rod because they don’t make 10mm rods easily accessible. Note the PVC Pipe in the background.

I used a long rod because there aren’t replacement parts for this machine. I had a little help in knowing what exact parts were needed from Francesco. Then I put my old portafilter on the end of it, the original from my first Kim Express. It makes for a great handle. I brought my other portafilter home from work on the weekends, and I finally bought a new one just for this machine.

First shot!

I had to do more work than I had anticipated, but it was well worth it. I can now replicate the coffee I have at work, and my “buying old espresso machine” habit didn’t burn a hole in my pocket. The other benefit is that I can do heavy maintenance on the other one and use this one as a replacement, which alleviates the fear of losing my blessed Kim Express, a miracle worker of espresso machines.

--

--

Robert McKeon Aloe
Overthinking Life

I’m in love with my Wife, my Kids, Espresso, Data Science, tomatoes, cooking, engineering, talking, family, Paris, and Italy, not necessarily in that order.