Wolfpack Spotlight: Meet Liri

Osiris Wednesday
Overwolf Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2021

Wolfpack Spotlights are our way of highlighting some of the talented individuals who make up Overwolf. Today we have Liri Katz under the spotlight.

Where did you grow up?

I was born in New York. I have some great childhood memories of running around in Central Park and going to cool restaurants and jazz clubs in the East Village.

How long have you been working at Overwolf?

About 9 months.

What’s your role here in the company, and what drew you to it?

I’m a copywriter / storyteller here at Overwolf.

It’s an amazing role, as it mixes together two of the major ingredients in my life: Writing words and playing video games.

Marketing and writing have always been at the center of my career, and gaming has always been an integral part of my life — long before I even started thinking about what I want to be when I grow up.

Going down memory lane, I can say that almost every period of my life so far was accompanied by at least one significant gaming experience that I had.

I still remember the excitement of defeating that final boss in Double Dragon; that tingling sensation of time traveling in Chrono Trigger; or those spine-chilling diary entries I found scattered around in Fallout 3… I’ve experienced countless amazing moments through video games, and it’s great to now play a role in this ecosystem — helping others experience their own significant gaming moments.

I feel that by playing my role here at Overwolf, I can support in-game creators in their quest to create more amazing gaming experiences. And understanding that the future of gaming is in user-generated content, I can help forge the path for more gaming experiences to be created, enriching other gamers’ lives.

What excites you about being a part of Overwolf?

For me, being a part of Overwolf means empowering others to express themselves and create meaningful experiences.

It’s all about taking people who are passionate about something and giving them everything they need to turn their dream into reality, into something that’s amazing for them and for millions of others.

Moreover, I’m excited to be part of an organization that supports creators in their creative journey and helps them make a living from what they love doing.

On that note, I’m a creator myself. I create music. And being a musician, I’m very familiar with that creative journey that all creators go through. While I’m not an in-game creator, I know what it’s like to have such a passion for something, accompanied by that urge to create the best thing you possibly can and then share it with others.

And I also know that satisfying feeling when you finally get to release your creation to the world. There’s nothing quite like it.

Now, I’ve already learned to accept the fact that I probably won’t be able to make a living from music alone. And I’m perfectly fine with it. I love working in gaming in the morning, and I love creating music in the evening, after work. Music is still my passion, and I’ll keep creating it no matter what.

But working at Overwolf, being able to help fellow creators do what they love doing *and* make a living out of it is truly inspiring. It teaches me a lot and gives me a very interesting perspective on creativity. In a way, it feels like I can help other creators walk down a path that I didn’t allow myself to fully explore. And for me, that’s both exciting and fulfilling.

--

--