Red Rock Canyon Grill and Jack Stack Barbeque

Olivia Clark
ow resturant reviews
5 min readApr 29, 2019

Red Rock Canyon Grill is located in Overland Park Kansas. The reason why I first went to this restaurant was because of my friend Ashley’s birthday. Other than that, I probably would not have picked eating there. The food they serve at Red Rock is pretty basic. Some examples of dishes they serve are chicken breasts, cheeseburgers, deserts, and more. However, there are some more unique items they serve like their homemade key lime pie and deviled eggs. They are super good and perfect to share with someone.

The time I went to Red Rock, I ordered just a classic cheeseburger with all toppings and fries. However, I was somewhat disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, the french fries were delicious, but the burger was not. As I take my first bite, I notice it is slightly undercooked. I couldn’t tell if it was just the flavor and i did not like it or the meat was very undercooked and pink. I remember myself drowning the burger in ketchup but just couldn’t eat it. So they did give me a brand new meal even when I asked to just order something else and pay for a new meal. What surprised me was that they gave me my new dish with no charge whatsoever. The waiter and chef were super sorry and it was greatly appreciated they did that for me. Moving onto service at Red Rock Grill. I would give the service a straight 10/10. The waitress and manager were the most hard working and caring people. They made the experience much better. Nothing is better at a restaurant then when you have kind waiter and that is exactly what you get at Red Rock. Because I was there for a friends birthday, they brought out two amazing desserts like their famous key lime pie and a piece of chocolate ice cream cake. All I can say about the dessert is that it was absolutely amazing.Furthermore, is the environment on Red Rock Canyon Grill. Overall, I did enjoy the atmosphere very much. This restaurant is more of a dinner setting so the lights are very dim. Outside of the building they even have a very pretty fireplace with a bunch of tables if you want to eat outside. I would describe it as a very warm and rustic restaurant. There isn’t too much going on but it is very nice inside. However, it is a pretty basic set up and there really isn’t anything that makes it stand out from other restaurants. Red Rock does have a basic environment but it has a good one. So, when is a good time to eat at Red Rock? Well, I would recommend making a reservation ahead of time. It gets super busy at night and there will be absolutely no wait if you reserve your seats. I have never gone without making one, but my guess is that it would be a longer wait without one. And if you are going out with multiple people, making a reservation would be a great idea!

Jack Stack Barbeque is on the Plaza in Kansas City. If you do not like barbeque, Jack Stack is not the place to eat for you because that is all they serve! I first went to Jack Stack with my grandparents and they absolutely loved it. Jack Stack is a great restaurant for family dinners or with a small group.

But first, I want to discuss the atmosphere because it is super nice. I believe the best time to eat here would be at night. I enjoy the dark lights and the vibe you get when your inside. The restaurant is very nice and well designed which obviously makes your experience much better. You get a cozy, rustic and older vibe which I enjoyed a lot. Hanging above the bar is a huge round chandelier which is so pretty. Because this restaurant is on the Plaza, the overall experience is fun. Driving through the plaza gives you a better sense of Kansas City Barbeque at Jack Stack. Jack Stack is a pretty casual restaurant but somewhat versatile. For example, you could dress up for a more formal dinner or just go for a casual night dinner. When I went with family, we decided to dress casual. There are people that will go for a more formal visit so you can do whatever you want.Moving forward, the food is the most important part. The barbeque at Jack Stack is a solid 9.5/10. The reason i do not give this a 10/10 is because the coleslaw does taste a little bit sour. However, the barbeque is out of this world. Every meal comes with an entree and two sides. I had ordered the smokehouse wings, baked beans and coleslaw. What can i say, it was absolutely phenomenal. The wings had the perfect amount of flavor and tenderness. They just fell off the bone and they couldn’t have been any better. I was not a fan of the coleslaw only because the only coleslaw I enjoy is the kind my mom makes. But if you are a fan of fresh and flavorful coleslaw, I think you would enjoy it. Now moving into the service at Jack Stack BBQ. I would give the service a 10/10. The waiters/waitresses are the most hardworking and kind people. They make sure your visit is amazing. Overall, I would recommend making a reservation. It gets packed at night with people because it is on the plaza. Therefore, you will not have to wait at all if you get a table reserved. The conclusion, like said before, I give Jack Stack a 9.5/10. I absolutely love this restaurant and would recommend it to anyone who loves barbeque. Kansas City overall have great barbeque and Jack Stack is one of the top ten barbeque restaurants in Kansas.

--

--