DNA 1

Israel Barraza
Israel’s Blog
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2018

In my previous post I said that DNA has a deeper meaning than what it leads you to believe on a first listen. The song starts right away, saying “ I got, I got, I got, I got Loyalty, got royalty inside my DNA Cocaine quarter piece, got war and peace inside my DNA I got power, poison, pain and joy inside my DNA I got hustle though, ambition, flow, inside my DNA I was born like this, since one like this Immaculate conception”. These first few lines are loaded with information on what this song is truly about. It is my belief that in the song Kendrick is saying that he has “power, poison, pain and joy” in his DNA because some of the words that he says such as cocaine quarter piece are heavily associated with the black communities, I believe that in this song he is trying to show that people think this and is in a way disproving the stereotypes by acknowledging them and owning them. He owns up to the fact that some people may feel that all black people are like this, but by saying that its in his DNA, he makes it seem like something he can’t help but do, and we know that he doesn’t do some of the stuff he says, during this song he also samples a news report on hip hop and how it does more damage to the communities and in a way this song feels like he is just laughing in the face of those who believe in stereotypes and saying “yeah ALL blacks are like this because its in our DNA”.

--

--