What Type of Music Do I Listen to?

Israel Barraza
Israel’s Blog
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2018
Photo by Manuel Nägeli on Unsplash

Typically I listen to a lot of different genres of music, I basically like that has an awesome instrumental solo such as Stairway to Heaven by Led Zepplin or Victor Wootens U Can’t Hold No Grove (If you ain’t Got No Pocket).These two songs themselves are very different, but compared to my third favorite song that has a solo, they are one in the same. My other favorite song with a solo is Dimitri Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto №1, obviously a stark contrast from the others on the list. Outside of that I like Big Band Jazz such as Caravan by Juan Tizol and Duke Ellington. According to Spotify 2018 Wrapped, my favorite artist was Kendrick Lamar which again shows a massive shift in taste because he is a rap artist, the reason he is my favorite artist is because of his lyrical ability and he manages to mix it with fresh beats and make relevant good music, which is in short supply right now. It is also amazing that he didn’t win best album of 2018 to of all of the other albums 24 magic by Bruno Mars, an unfathomable over a true lyrical and musical masterpiece. Anyway, I truly believe that having a wide variety of music to listen to is pretty good because it does help when coping with stuff, when I want to get hyped up I’ll listen to Sheck Wes’ album Mudboy or maybe Painkiller by Judas Priest, sometimes when I’m feeling down I’ll listen to a little Post Malone or something like that.

--

--