Why I chose to play the Cello

Israel Barraza
Israel’s Blog
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2018
Photo by Dominik Scythe on Unsplash

Remembering back to 5th grade when we had our school try-it night I remember only really thinking about one option being the right one, that would obviously be the cello. When I walked into the room I was immediately drawn to the string instruments because my sister had been playing the viola for a while at that point and as a result I had been to various concerts, I remember feeling chills running down my spine as I heard some of the songs they preformed, so from that point I knew that I wanted to play a string instrument. When it came to picking which of the specific instruments I wanted to play it was a little harder than just going to a concert and picking out an instrument. I had to do a lot of my own research and try and figure out which instrument would be the most comfortable to play and the coolest. I eventually decided on the cello because of its extremely wide range. Now I see that I chose right, when I play in the orchestra, we mainly get the more boring time keeping pieces, but every once in a while we get a truly amazing part such as in Gustav Holst’s Jupiter (from the nine planets) which has an absolutely beautiful. All in all I think that the cello is the perfect instrument to play, I believe that it has the most wide range, so the cello can hit really high notes very well, while also being able to hit low notes, I also think that it has the best timbre and overall the best tone quality.

--

--