Responsive design

And the role of development in design

Andrew Couldwell
Owl Studios

--

This is a deep-dive into the role of development in the design process, with a focus on responsive design. It’s aimed at design leaders/managers and developers working with design teams, and visual designers looking to become better web designers. I’ll attempt to lay out the problems, and suggest practical solutions. I hope it helps. 🙂

Responsive web design. A dark art?

It’s 2018. Why are we still talking about responsive design?

I first learned responsive design back in 2011. I started out by reading Ethan Marcotte’s book, ‘Responsive Web Design’.

A dark art of web design?

Responsive design has been a thing for roughly 8-9 years now. In the early days, it was downright impressive to see a responsive website! Almost, a ‘dark art’ of web design. But, that was a long time ago.

In my role as either a designer or a developer, I find it strange that I still get asked by clients, agencies, and designers for:

“…A responsive website…”

My first thought is always:

‘Well, obviously…’

But, much of my freelance web development work involves ‘making things responsive’. Designers ask me to build them a website, then send me a mockup of a desktop-only…

--

--