Meet Chen Naje, The Artist Who Will Create Our Inaugural Deck

Shiekina Añasco
OWNLY
Published in
7 min readJul 16, 2019

John Kaizen “Chen” Naje, also known as “Chenandink” within the art community, is a 24-year old artist based in Albay, Philippines. Born in the mid 90’s, Chen is the oldest among three siblings.

He first pursued Bachelor of Science in Computer Science in Bicol University. But he shifted and graduated with his true calling, Bachelor of Fine Arts, from Aquinas University.

Chenandink’s works of art on Instagram

With over 31,800 followers in his Instagram account, Chen is one of Bicol’s pride when it comes to art and illustration. Yesterday, our team had the privilege of talking to this rising artist from Camalig, Albay.

Join us as we journey through Chen’s life, his passion in the arts, and the challenges he faced while growing up in the province. Let’s also learn about his outlook for the future, and get to know who the person really is behind all these beautiful pieces.

During the interview with Chen at our office in Ctrl Alt Work

How old were you when you found out that you have talent in illustration?

My mom told me that at the age of two, I’ve already started drawing cartoon characters like Mickey Mouse and anime characters like in Dragon Ball Z.

When did you realize that you can earn from your artistic skills?

When I was in my last year in college, I joined InkTober 2017. It was a challenge to draw everyday for the rest of the month based on the theme prompts given. That’s when my followers started growing, and I decided to convert my followers into sales.

I was active in social media. My posts were consistent, until one day, I received messages from different companies and private individuals asking for commissioned work. My first commissioned artwork was a packaging design for a candle.

Did there ever come a time when you doubted yourself and your talent?

I think that’s something that happens to every artist. In my case, I started comparing my art to other artists. I felt like they were a lot better than me, but they are not highly recognized for what they do. They have a smaller number of followers compared to mine, and somehow I felt like I don’t deserve it.

What did you do to get over your self doubts?

What I did was I improved my style. I made my drawings more detailed. I picked a unique yet more natural concept which is animal illustrations. For me, it is normal to be insecure about other artists. You just need to not take it negatively. Instead, you should use it as a motivation for you to improve yourself.

Have you encountered rejections and hatred before?

To be completely honest, I usually get rejections when I tell them my rates. But when it comes to hate, I don’t normally receive any. I can say that the art community is very supportive and not toxic unlike what other people say.

When did you start becoming a full-time freelance artist?

I actually tried to apply as a graphic artist or designer to several companies in Manila, but sadly, I didn’t get any call back. I realized that maybe it’s really not for me. I started accepting commissions, and that’s when I knew that I don’t really need to be employed to do what I want to do.

Is it worth it to live on income from art? How can you see yourself in the future?

For now, yes, since I still live with my parents and I don’t have much responsibilities. But in the near future, I’m planning to start my own business to help me with the expenses, at the same time I will still accept commissions as sideline. In the long run, I want to be a published artist or illustrator in books. Hopefully, I will accomplish that.

Do you see yourself teaching art in the future?

I really look forward to doing this in the future. I tried teaching in art workshops before. It’s one of the things I really want to do, but I think I’m not good enough to be a teacher yet. I want to share my knowledge to students. It’s a way for me to give back to the community, and for them to remember me.

Do you also have occasional “art block” or “creative block”?

Of course. Actually, right now, I’m experiencing creative block. I hold my pencil everyday, but most of the times, I leave my paper empty. The longest creative block I have experienced so far lasted for two weeks. When I can’t draw, my social media accounts get stuck. What I do to get rid of my creative block is I browse other people’s work for inspiration.

What inspires you to make art?

Well, aside from food :) art is really what I wanted to do. I don’t even think about whether I get clients or if someone will contact me. I do it because I love to do it.

What’s your favorite work so far?

My recent series, “astral creatures”. That’s the first commission that I did, then I continued to work on it last October. That’s the work I became known for.

Chen’s Astral Series

Who are the artists you look up to?

Kerby Rosanes. He inspired me to use pen and ink. Internationally, I like Aaron Blaise, an animator and he also directed some Disney movies. His specialty is also animals.

How do you describe your art style?

Impractical. Haha. I believe I don’t need to use too much details on my art, but no one does that, so I think it’s worth doing.

What do you think is in your art that we can’t find in others?

In my line which is animals, I think it’s the level of detail and the composition.

If you weren’t an artist, what would you be?

I’ll probably just stay at home doing nothing. Haha. I haven’t given it any thought. But if I weren’t an artist, maybe I would be a zoologist, a veterinarian, or a wildlife photographer.

We’ve had pets since I was a little kid. I’ve been exposed to animals from watching Disney movies and cartoons when I was young. There are a lot of animals in Disney :) I prefer to have them as my subjects than people.

What was your parents’ reaction when you decided to become a freelance artist?

At first, they weren’t very supportive. But I still chose to do it. Then when I started earning, they stopped complaining. Haha. My advice is to just show them that you can earn by doing what you love best, and that your future is bright no matter what people say.

Do you get scared or anxious when you have no clients?

Yes, that happens. I become anxious when I feel like I don’t have a client for a month. What I do is I look for other ways to earn, like selling stickers and other merchandise in art fairs.

What advice do you want to give to artists who are planning to go full time as a freelancer?

My advice is don’t leave your job, because you can always freelance as a sideline. Or if you really want to, just make sure you know what you’re doing. If you think you can support yourself, then have full confidence and believe in yourself all the way through. There are a lot of downsides in freelancing like unstable security and income. But once you have fully embraced it, you will find yourself contented.

What are you looking forward to in CryptoSolitaire?

I hope it becomes successful! I get a little pressured because card design is complex. It’s harder for me to conceptualize, but I try to research good references to guide me. It’s new and unique compared to my previous projects. It’s also on a new platform, the Blockchain, which makes me really excited to work on it.

From left: Ismael Jerusalem, Shiekina Añasco, Chen Naje, Rico Zuñiga, Aldrick Bonaobra

We’re very excited to be working with Chen for our inaugural deck of cards! With this collaboration between art and technology, Chen will be one of the first to put his work on the Blockchain. Watch out for the opening of our pre-sale store soon so you can reserve a deck at a discounted price. There will be a limited number of decks available for purchase.

Follow Chenandink on Instagram.

UPDATE: CryptoSolitaire is now Ownly! We’ve launched Chen’s masterpiece as a series of 1 of only 1, 52 single edition crypto art on OpenSea.

Purchase a unique piece now: https://opensea.io/assets/ownly

--

--