the delirious sea by Zeynep Çiçek

Oyez Review
Oyez Review

--

Picture our delirious sea
and trudge in with a bitter sing

Friend,
I showed up; under my arm was a beheaded head
the eyes shone sordid, the times were heresy

I knew his voice, knew his choice
I took his life with two words of idiocy
Twisting his neck, I grafted him to my journey

And when I sang, I recalled his voice, his choice
I took his life
but I could not take his song
And when I sang
he sang no more.

Zeynep Çiçek is a poet, an aspiring novelist, an artist and an avid reader. She has won first place in the short story contest organised by Creative Children’s Association in 2017–2018. She is currently pursuing a Bioengineering major in Germany.

--

--

Oyez Review
Oyez Review

Oyez Review is an award-winning literary magazine. We publish an annual journal of fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, and art.