A little change can save the world

Emily Hernandez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 29, 2019

For my DOT project I am going vegetarian. At first I chose to be vegetarian because a good portion of my class had chosen to do that and I was like, “OK, let me do that too.”

Then I started researching all the advantages that the diet provides for all of us. Something that I learned was that it reduces global warming.

A fact that I got from Cowspiracy is that shifting away from methane emitting food sources is much easier than cutting carbon dioxide. How cool is that?! Another interesting fact that I discovered is that with a vegetarian diet a reduction of the greenhouse gases are limitless. A last interesting fact that I discovered is that going vegetarian can reduce my ecological footprint. How, you ask me? Well, individuals can dramatically reduce the amount of land, water, and oil resources that they consume. All of these facts had me thinking that maybe with a little decision I can change a lot for the community — not just for myself but for other people too. I recommend you trying something new that will help the environment in some way!! Throughout my journey I will be writing updates here to share how I feel and how my actions have changed the environment. Until next time folks!

--

--

Emily Hernandez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

I am a student at Oyster Adams and i am going Vegetarian for my DOT project