After 1 Week…

After one week of being vegan I realized I messed up. Not totally messed up but I feel different compared to how I felt two weeks ago. I am feeling weaker, which can be defined as a realization during this project due to how I witnessed the difference in the way I felt between consuming and not consuming animal based products.

To begin, the first realization was my health/behavior throughout the week. I saw I was not receiving enough food, protein, and energy from my new diet and that caused me to be weak. One day my football enthusiastic friends decided to show off or teach me their diet, which made me think about the impact of animal-based products on many people, especially on athletes.

Football players or student athletes consume a lot of calories, which is to gain strength. My friends say they consume 5,000 calories a day including 50 grams of protein. This made me think of how important my ecological footprint really is. For example, how animal agriculture is leading in being the world’s largest emitter of greenhouse gas with 51% but is still necessary for an ordinary (not knowing the impact of animal agriculture on our world) football player’s diet. Not all football players have this diet, like Tom Brady, but many linebackers do.

--

--