America is very ridiculous

Kaia Lucas-R
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 11, 2017

One would think that if you know how deadly plastic is, you would avoid using it. I mean, there’s an island of trash in the middle of the Pacific Ocean the size of our country. Unnecessary plastic should be avoided at all costs. So my question is: Why is this a thing?

This is possibly the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. If only nature gave us a way to conserve a clementine without wasting a lot of plastic… oh wait.

On a more serious note, this challenge has been a lot harder than I thought. I accidentally got a straw from a restaurant three times in one week. On both occasions I was with a friend who had the same project as me. We realized our mistakes very quickly. The real challenge is prepackaged food or 75% of all food in the store! I can’t eat power bars, chips, drinks, and the only candy I can eat are the ones in flimsy paper wrappers. On the bright side, I can eat clementines that don’t come in plastic containers. My friend Gabi mentioned that she went to Five and Below to buy glitter, but she didn’t because the saw that each color of glitter was in a plastic container, all of them were wrapped together in plastic wrap, and in another bigger plastic container. America is truly ridiculous.

--

--

Kaia Lucas-R
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Eight grader at Oyster-Adams trying to help in any small way. Climate change is a problems so I am reducing my amount of plastic.