Animals are FRIENDS not FOOD

Emily Zacarias
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 24, 2017

For my Do One Thing project I am going vegetarian. I decided to go vegetarian because I want to try to make a dent in the emission of CO2 in the earth’s atmosphere. This is a very important issue because it is the largest contributor to global warming.

The benefits of not eating meat are that you lower the amount of electricity and water usage in the USA. In the documentary Cowspiracy it is said that for one burger we use 660 gallons of water. It it is also said that one third of the world’s fresh water is used for animal agriculture and 91% of the Amazon is lost due to animal agriculture.

That means the water we could be drinking is being given to cattle instead. If we stop eating meat in general the demand for meat will go down, which means less cattle will be raised. Some people think of this as us taking an animals life but would you rather eat a burger or have your grandchildren or great grandchildren able to live a long healthy life?

If we stop or lower the amount of meat consumption we will help life as we know it on Earth to last. That is the whole idea of my Do One Thing project — to boycott meat to lower our demands on meat.

On Monday I will start my journey. Hopefully I will keep this habit of no meat forever and really try to make a difference in the planet we call Mother Earth.

--

--