Photo by Nadine Primeau on Unsplash

Broccoli: Secretly a super food

A word on broccoli and it’s wonders

--

When I first decided to become a vegetarian, I was daunted by the task of not being able to eat meat. I worried that I wouldn't be able to resist the temptation and that I would one day slip up and accidentally succumb to the consumption of a burger. This is why I am very proud to say, that at the conclusion of the first week as a vegetarian, I have not eaten a single sliver of meat. Now, I know all of you reading who have been vegetarian for a lot longer than I have must be thinking that I am naive and that my week one data seems like an insignificant accomplishment compared to yours. However, may I say that as an adolescent, it is a big deal to give up my main source of protein. My parents have become even more insistent that I eat a lot of vegetables since they are now one of my only sources of protein. Thankfully one of my dads is vegan, which means that I have become familiarized with vegetables that have a healthy amount of protein and other nutrients.

Photo by CJ Dayrit on Unsplash

One vegetable that I have a newfound respect for is broccoli. Some people would consider broccoli a super food, some people would not. I personally consider it one as it provides a countless number of health benefits. Regardless of this debate, broccoli is an all around good choice for people who have decided to give up meat. It is packed with fiber, as well as iron, potassium, and calcium. Broccoli also contains vitamins A, C, E, and K. All of these wonderful nutrients are excellent for your health and can promote a healthier heart by lowering the total amount of cholesterol in your body. On top of that, broccoli is amazing for your bone strength. According to an article published on BBC Good Food, adults need 1 mcg (microgram) of vitamin K per each kilogram of their body weight. Broccoli can far surpass this amount, with just 100g of broccoli providing 145 mcg of vitamin K. This means that you can get your daily dose of vitamin K from just a little bit of broccoli. All it takes is a little time to cut up broccoli and cook it (if you want to).

Broccoli is incredible. It can prevent DNA damage and metastatic cancer spread; activate defenses against pathogens and pollutants; help to prevent lymphoma; boost the enzymes that detox your liver; target breast cancer stem cells; and reduce the risk of prostate cancer progression — Michael Greger

The best part is that you can incorporate broccoli into just about any meat-free dish that you normally eat — from pasta to salads. Broccoli can also be eaten raw, which is actually just as healthy, if not healthier, than regular broccoli. If you need help finding some good, healthy recipes to make with broccoli, there are some amazing ones here. I hope that you can enjoy the benefits of broccoli as much as I do!!

--

--