But I really wanted pizza!

My first steps into “veganism “

Paulina Rodríguez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 16, 2019

--

It was the first day of our DOT and I was in fly by light with my friends during lunch, where we could eat pizza and of course the first thing I did was eat two whole slices of pizza. It was really good but I promised myself to stay on track the rest of the way. I did and kept track of what I ate, because if this I found out that I could save 23lbs of fish every year!

What are the next steps?

While I was vegan, I felt really good about helping the animals and the environment but it was hard for me to do it because I didn’t research enough recipes and buy as many foods that were plant-based so I was quite hard for me to stay on track. However, I did load up on a lot of vegan snacks :) I do plan to make changes in the future that will help, for example I will start drinking almond milk instead of cow milk, (which is surprisingly really good, despite what I’ve heard other people say. Plus, considering the fact that I hate almonds). Especially because I’ve learned that constantly impregnating and milking cows really hurts them and it is very cruel. Then I will slowly and gradually incorporate more and more things into my diet that are at least vegetarian. Even though I am more than happy to do whatever I can to help the environment, some people are against kids/people in general going vegan. Throughout the project I’ve always felt the need to explain myself to people as to why I’m vegan because I felt judged by people who didn’t agree with what I was doing, but I just told myself to let them think what they want and I do what is right for me.

--

--