Climate Change is REAL people

Going vegetarian

Luisa Vasquez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 22, 2019

--

Did you know that, on average, there are six deaths due to shark attacks every year but the average deaths because of climate change each year is 250,000?! Why is it that each of these rare deaths are highly publicized when you almost never hear about climate change in the nightly news?

The water conservation website for California, Save Our Water, lists all kinds of ideas for saving water in our home like household items such as turning off the faucet in our sinks and/or bathtubs however the biggest area of consumption comes from decisions about what we eat.

After recording my regular diet for a week I have learned that, on average, I eat six pounds of meat in a week. Going vegetarian reduces climate change and our use of water and this will positively impact our environment. Five days into being vegetarian I can say that it has been rough because coming from a REALLY Hispanic background the expectation is to eat meat every dinner. My mother has told me that being vegetarian was a bad idea because 1) I wasn’t going to last and 2) I can’t follow through without eating carne asada she said,

“Te va a dar anorexia si no comes Luisa Maria, te voy a dar pura tortilla con queso”

“You’re going to be anorexic if you don’t eat Luisa María, I’m only going to feed you tortillas and cheese!” Hearing this every day makes me want to do it even more just to prove her WRONG. You guys don’t know how hard it is to tell a Latina mom “I told you so” before you get slapped in the face with a chancla. Anyway, please acknowledge the harm we are committing to this Earth and think about the changes you can make to stop it. In this case I’ve decided to 1) prove my mom wrong and 2) prove climate change wrong.

--

--