Death by Plastic

Kaia Lucas-R
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 24, 2017

For my DOT (Do One Thing) Project I decided to reduce the amount of disposable plastic I use. After watching the documentary Plastic Paradise, I learned just how badly plastic was affecting out environment. After seeing Midway Island (an island near the Pacific Garbage Patch in the middle of the Pacific covered in trash from all over the world) and the poor animals trapped in nets or with plastic inside them, I was horrified. I also realized that I use a lot of disposable plastic.

300 million tons of plastic are produced globally each year, and only ten percent is recycled. This is a lot of plastic. After starting my baseline, I saw how much plastic I am using everyday. And I know I use less than the average American yet, it was still a lot. Reducing the amount of plastic I use will be a challenge, but it will have a good impact on the environment. I hope that more people try this challenge, in order to offer animals a safer and healthier life.

My challenge involves not using any disposable plastic. So this means I can’t even eat things that come in a plastic wrapper, or disposable plastic container. All of my food with be transported in reusable Tupperware and my drinks in a travel mug or reusable water bottle. It also means using only reusable bags when shopping and no plastic silverware.

--

--

Kaia Lucas-R
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Eight grader at Oyster-Adams trying to help in any small way. Climate change is a problems so I am reducing my amount of plastic.