Defeat the meats with more BEETS!

A week three reflection on going vegetarian, starring…beets!

Viviana Guzman
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 16, 2019

--

More than two weeks ago, I embarked on a journey to become a vegetarian. This journey has been very confusing. You might ask, “Why?” In reality, my eating habits have been altered by becoming a vegetarian. Don’t get me wrong, being vegetarian hasn't been bad. Vegetarianism has some advantages to it. For example, I have been eating very healthy with lots of salads and other non-meat items like tofu and curry soup from an Indian restaurant. This means that I feel lighter and less bloated after eating a big meal.

One vegetable that I have realized is oddly tasty is beets. Beets are healthy and do not contain meat. Beets are packed with essential vitamins, minerals and plant compounds, some of which have medicinal properties.

Health Benefits of Eating Beets

  • Beets lower your blood pressure
  • Beets contain nitrates that help your cells’ mitochondria produce more energy (athletes love this)
  • Beets have anti-inflammatory properties, which help prevent obesity, heart disease, liver disease and cancer
  • Beets are low in calories and high in water, they contain moderate amounts of protein and fiber.
  • Blood pressure-lowering effects are likely due to the high concentration of nitrates in beets.
  • One study in humans with osteoarthritis showed that betalain capsules made with beetroot extract reduced pain and discomfort associated with the condition.
  • One cup of beetroot contains 3.4 grams of fiber, making beets a good fiber source.

The day I ate beets I did not know what they were called although I have had it in a previous Peruvian dish, which is called Peruvian Ensalada Rusa — I highly recommend it! Anyway, this time the dish was just a salad that included spinach, beets, carrots, ranch and potatoes. It was tasty and yummy yummy in my tummy.

--

--