Sarah Panetta (me) for the 2019 DOT Project

Eat Greens, Not Animals!

Sarah K. Panetta
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

--

Last year, the thought of going vegan terrified me. I needed animal products in my everyday meals because it gave my taste buds, and my VERY ANIMAL PRODUCTS-CONSUMING ITALIAN FAMILY, pleasures that we couldn’t get from any other protein foods. Well Sarah, what about the animals, and what about Earth’s environment? Recently, in Ms. Riggen’s class, we had a mini environmental awareness film week where we watched three videos about global warming and it’s causes. I had to do something. My first thought was to go vegetarian, then I thought: “Why go only vegetarian when dairy is also bad for not only the environment but also for the human anatomy and the digestive system?” So I decided to take a big risk and go vegan.

Photo by Jannis Brandt on Unsplash

The reason I’m doing this is for my Do One Thing project (also known as the DOT project) for my science class and for Earth. The project is that we have to make a change in our lives that will benefit the planet.

Our meat consumption has taken a big toll on the environment. Animal agriculture has a bigger impact on greenhouse gases than the whole world’s transportation system. Methane is a flammable gas, which is the main constituent of natural gas. Methane is a big NO NO for our environment. Did you know that methane is the most influential greenhouse gas? According to the Environmental Working Group (EWG): “The production, processing, and distribution of meat requires huge outlays of pesticides, fertilizer, fuel, feed, and water while releasing greenhouse gases, manure and a range of toxic chemicals into our air and water.” To sum it all up, an all dairy and meat diet is extremely harmful to Earth. We need to make a difference and stop global warming while there’s still time. Let’s do this!

--

--