Everyone can change

You’re stressed and want to take a long shower? Why you might want to think twice before doing this.

lizeth rodriguez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 29, 2019

--

Hi! I’m Lizeth. What I’m going to do for my Do One Thing (DOT) project is take shorter showers. To accomplish this goal every night for four weeks I will use a chronometer to track my shower times and try to leave the shower earlier than the previous day. To find the exact time, I will place my phone in the sink and after every shower turn off the water and as fast as I can stop the chronometer as well.

In order to calculate the amount of water my showers use, I will use the flow rate of my shower head to multiply this number by the time I spend in the shower.

I chose this project because I waste too much water in the shower since I take very long showers (up to about an hour) when I want to. According to the Huffington Post, the environmental impacts are “Therefore, wasting water in a country where it may appear water just magically comes out of the tap (i.e. Canada, the U.S., most developed countries), is wasting a precious, vital resource that millions (663 million, according to Water Facts: Facts About the Global Water Shortage) don’t even have clean, safe access to.” This shows how wrong we are to think that some things we do are not affecting others. For this reason I decided to change the way I live my life (showering) to save some water and money.

You can make a change in our society — the only thing is that you have to want too. I know is hard but give it a try!

--

--