Finally Done!

Sammy Davis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMay 22, 2017

--

It has been four weeks since I started my DOT project, and I have to say, I think I did really well. During my baseline data week, I used 141.78 grams of non-recyclable packaging. This is a crazy amount, considering that I am only one person. The average grams of the four week project was 75.4 grams, which is half of what I used during the baseline data week. You can check out my DOT data here.

Looking towards the future, I don’t think that I can continue to eat almost nothing from non-recyclable containers. It is extremely hard, because even the little things that you put in a lasagna come in packaging that cannot be recycled. Although I cannot keep going with the project on a big scale, I definitely will continue to lower my use of packaging. For example, instead of eating heat-up soups that have a total mass of almost 25 grams (the packaging), I can eat a heat-up burrito, which has packaging that is only 5 grams.

After seeing my peers’ projects, I am more aware of sustainability. One of my classmates took shorter showers during his month of the DOT project. That is something that I can try besides eating from less non-recyclable packaging.

We should all consider doing something like the DOT project. Even if it is just for a few weeks or a full year, small actions can make our lives more sustainable.

--

--

Sammy Davis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Oyster-Adams 8th grader only using food products with packaging that is 100% recyclable