First Week…

--

My first week as a vegetarian wasn’t as difficult as I expected it to be. I expected to not be able to eat a lot of things but then I realized that most of my meals were vegetarian meals by just reducing the meat that I eat.

One day while I was discussing my schedule with my mother she had remembered that I had track the next day. She told me to take it easy because I wasn’t consuming much protein. That day when I had track I felt a little bit weaker and didn’t perform as well. After track I couldn’t eat a whole bunch of food so I just ate a salad and pretended I was satisfied with that.

Another challenge that I faced was my grandmother. Unfortunately she visited around this time and she keeps trying to make me cheat…but i’m not a cheater. The experience does make me feel healthier. I did have trouble finding what to eat but it was a little easier because of Ms. Riggen’s vegan/vegetarian club where we make/try new vegan/vegetarian foods so that we have a sense of what to eat.

Something that motivates me to continue with this diet is the documentary we watched in science class called Cowspiracy. This documentary shows the impacts of eating meat and how it affects our environment. It also had facts such as Americans eat up to 209 pounds of beef a year and how 1 pound of beef is equivalent to 2500 gallons of water.

--

--