first week as a vegetarian (struggles)

Jocelyn Arias
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 7, 2017

--

Giving up meat and other animal products is very difficult. Meat is scary addicting and I need treatment as a meataholic. You could probably guess by now, I’ve had some tacos, some fried chicken and let me stop with the list before I rethink my existence.

On a serious note, I think it’s been hard to restrain my cravings now that I’m surrounded my animal products everywhere that is not so expensive at all.

I have been wondering about some theories I’ve had. For example, if places like the Yes Market was cheaper and places like Burger King and McDonald’s didn’t have McChickens for about a dollar, wouldn’t most of the public restrain eating all this food that is helping us kill the environment?

In my science class we watched a lot of documentaries about theories similar to this one, which is not really a theory its actually happening. In Sweden they cut down the prices for biodiesel, which is more productive for our environment than other gases produced by burning fossil fuels. This is helping their environment a lot and a large percent of their population is running on biodiesel because it is cheaper. So why can’t we do this with food?

Anywho back to my struggles. I have been having an extremely tough time finding what foods will fill me up that aren’t just carbs (unfortunately my mother says that’s not healthy to run on carbs only). Therefore I have been having trouble committing to this project. BUTTTT I’ve gotten more and more used to this lifestyle and I know the next week these cravings will decrease (hopefully).

My mom’s reaction to me not being able to eat her carne asada

--

--