Zoe Savidis for Oyster Adams DOT Project

Getting rid of road rage

Zoe Savidis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

--

You’re tired. It’s been a rough morning. You look outside to your car, debating whether you should walk or drive to school. You’re not running late, so you could walk. But a part of you just wants to sit down and be driven to school. You want to relax, and your legs are tired. So, that’s what you do. There’s no harm in driving, right? Wrong.

According to studies from USC, “Collectively, cars and trucks account for nearly one-fifth of all US emissions, emitting around 24 pounds of carbon dioxide and other global-warming gases for every gallon of gas.” Climate change is a big problem, and one of the main causes for it is CO2 which is being widely produced and released from vehicles. Not many people understand the harm that vehicles can cause to our planet. Walking, or biking, or using public transportation is way better for our environment than using a car. That’s where the DOT project comes in.

Photo by Xiaolong Wong on Unsplash

The DOT project is a project that the 8th grade students at Oyster Adams Bilingual School are working on. Basically, we have to do one thing (stands for DOT) to help climate change. We need to make a change in our own lifestyle that will benefit the earth positively. Some people have decided to change their diets and go vegan or vegetarian, take shorter showers, etc. But for my change, I have decided to walk everywhere I go that’s 2 or less miles away. If I’m going somewhere that’s over 2 miles away, I will most likely bike or use public transportation instead of driving. On a normal basis, I drive everywhere I go. I’m not used to getting to places without being driven. So, reader, bear with me through this exciting and new experience — it will be quite the ride. Oh, wait, I mean quite the walk.

See what I did there?

--

--