Go Vegan! Week 2

Joel Bermudez
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 3, 2019

Hi! I’m still going strong on being vegan for the D.O.T. project. It’s really not that bad, to be honest. It’s not as hard as I thought it would be. For every animal based product, there is a vegan option to replace it. This post will share some examples of where it was hard to be vegan and when it was easy.

My school took us to the Holocaust Museum a couple of days ago (sad stuff) and afterwards they let us walk around the neighborhood to go eat. My friend, Maurice Stone, said he would invite me to lunch at Shake Shack and I was thinking, “Oh boy, well I’m gonna fail” but I totally underestimated them! They had this mushroom burger that included vegan cheese and it was D E L I C I O U S. It tasted just like meat and I loved it! (I need Maurie to buy me another one.)

The other day, my family got invited to a barbecue and once again, I thought that I was going to fail. All my friends were eating meat and ice cream and although I couldn’t eat any of it, it’s good to know that I stood strong. And thankfully, after we left the house, my dad took me to Cava and I got a VEGAN meal. It was good by the way. :)

Cava Mezze Grill

When I first started to go vegan, I thought that I couldn’t last and that I wasn’t going to eat anything. I was wrong. Going vegan isn’t all that bad because with going vegan, all you have to do is have determination, keep on fighting, and learn some recipes! It’s not as bad as it seems! If you’re looking for a healthier lifestyle or are thinking of ways to help the environment, I recommend going vegan.

Thank you for reading my week two of going vegan post. I will keep you tuned into what happens in week three. I swear to god though, after I’m done with this veganism, I’m going to &Pizza to get a meat-lovers pizza.

--

--