Grandma’s “nasty” fish pasta isn’t so bad

Chloe Lassiter
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readApr 11, 2017

We’re two and a half weeks in to the DOT Project and I have realized I have to be more creative with my recipe ideas. So I’ve been looking up recipe ideas and putting my own twist on them. This project isn’t that challenging for me because I can still get my protein in with fish and I’m not really noticing the difference of not being able to eat meat as a result of this fact.

I’m still finding new and wonderful recipes to keep up with my diet plan. I have been exploring new ways to enjoy my pescatarian lifestyle of eating fish almost everyday. Whether it’s frying, baking, sauteing, grilling or seasoning the fish in ways that would probably be way healthier, I’m still being creative with my ideas.

Now I don’t want to make this whole blog post just about food but one recipe I made was putting salmon into my pasta. I used to see my grandma eating this meal at home or at a restaurant and without trying it I always believed it was probably just all around disgusting. But it turns out, it’s really not that bad. The salmon provides important amounts of the antioxidant amino acid taurine, salmon is also an excellent source of vitamin B12 and vitamin D. As for the pasta fraction of the meal, it has 7 grams of protein, 2 grams of fiber and 40 grams of carbohydrates (these nutritional facts are in general.)

From this project I’m learning to be way more creative with the things I eat. This is a trait I think I will definitely keep up even after the project ends.

--

--