Harder Than It Looks

Sammy Davis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project
2 min readMar 25, 2017

You might think that using food products without packaging that is plastic is pretty easy. In reality, it is extremely hard. For my DOT (Do One Thing) Project, I am only purchasing/eating foods that come in packaging that is 100% recyclable. When I say that, I mean that all of the components in the packaging MUST be able to be recycled.

A few months ago, I first tried heat up food that was easy to prepare when I was hungry and when my mom wasn’t home. Some examples of these foods are heat-up soups, frozen burritos, and heat up meals. None of these foods have packaging that is recyclable. This is how I came up with the idea for my DOT Project. This project will take place over four weeks.

So far during the time that I have collected my baseline data, I have realized/felt a few things. First, almost every day that I have been recording my data, I have had a knot in my stomach because I feel like I am going to eat from packaging that I am not supposed to eat. Also, I am just realized how much I eat from plastic containers/ packaging. In only four days, I have filled a plastic bag with non-recyclable packaging. I have no idea what type of food I am going to eat during the four weeks of putting my project in action.

--

--

Sammy Davis
Oyster-Adams’ Do One Thing Project

Oyster-Adams 8th grader only using food products with packaging that is 100% recyclable